Choose the right kind of Facebook Group for your Business
A Facebook Group is a great business tool to connect and share information with your clients. Used wisely, you can quickly create a community and a network which is really useful for your relationship with them.
Facebook divides its groups into 3 categories: Public, Closed and Secret. Each of them corresponds to a different privacy level. Most of the time, people don’t know which one would suits their business. Choosing privacy needs to be done in relation with your goals and what you want to do with this group.
You need to choose the privacy option with those elements in mind. Otherwise the situation inside your group can be dramatically affected. Your community could stop interacting with others or even leave the group. So, be careful with which privacy level you choose. Fortunately you can change this privacy settings if you are not satisfied with.
A Secret Group to be discret
If you want to be really close to your community and keep the privacy level narrow, then create a secret group. Only group members will be able to see the content of the group, its members and find it in the Facebook search. Members of the group can only be invited by current members and approved by admins. This is perfect if you share some private documents with your community and you don’t want the wrong people to see them.
A Public Group to build an open known community
If you want to develop and create a huge network on Facebook with a small control on the access of your group then you can create a public group. The group will be visible in the Facebook search and its content can be read by anyone. To participate, people have to join it and be confirmed by its current members. This is perfect for viral projects and causes.
A Closed group to be selective
Closed groups are in between. Facebook users would only be able to find the group in the search engine and see the members of the group. To check out the content and publish posts in it, they have to ask you to join. As an admin, you can decide to accept them, or not.
To sum up
|Who can see the group’s name?||Everyone||Everyone||Current and former members|
|Who can find the group in search?||Everyone||Everyone||Current and former members|
|Who can join the group?||Everyone can join or be added or invited by a member||Everyone can ask to join or be added or invited by a member||Everyone, but they have to be added or invited by a member|
|Who can see the group description?||Everyone||Everyone||Current and former members|
|Who can see group members?||Everyone||Everyone||Current members only|
|Who can see what members post in the group?||Everyone||Current members only||Current members only|
|Who can see the group tags?||Everyone||Everyone||Current and former members|
|Who can see stories about the group on Facebook (like in News Feed and search)?||Everyone||Current members only||Current members only|